10 Fun Facts About the Clownfish or Anemonefish

Clownfish are also known as anemonefish, which usually live in a coral reefs. There are about 28 to 30 different species of clownfish have been identified.

Here we’re are going to look at 10 fun facts about the clownfish.

  1. Clownfish are found in the shallow waters of the Indian and Pacific Oceans, including the Great Barrier Reef and the Red Sea.
  2. They are capable to live for about 6 to 10 years.
  3. Clownfish can vary in size depending on species. They can grow up to 18 centimeters (7.1 inches) in length, but sometimes they only grow 10 centimeters (3.9 inches) long.
  4. They are yellow, orange, or a reddish or blackish in colour, and most of them show white bars or patches.
  5. Clownfish are omnivores, which means that they eat both plants and animals. They can feed mainly on algae, zooplankton and small crustaceans.
  6. Clownfish have a symbiotic relationship with the sea anemones, meaning both providing a number of benefits to each other.
  7. All clownfish are born male but have the ability to change into a female. The change is irreversible.
  8. Clownfish can lay about hundreds or thousands of eggs during the full moon.
  9. Males guard the eggs until they hatch after 6–10 days, typically two hours after dusk.
  10. In Disney/Pixar’s 2003 film Finding Nemo and its 2016 sequel Finding Dory, the main characters Marlin and Nemo are Clownfish. As well as, they became widely popular after the release of this film.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the latest facts and knowledge right to your inbox.

You May Also Like